Athena Pinnacle Awards Press Release

Athena Draws 600 + Champions in Life Science, Technology, and Academics on April 28th at Manchester Grand Hyatt, Downtown San Diego 

Athena’s 18th Annual Pinnacle Awards honors San Diego’s best in STEM, reveals their Chairman’s Award & the recipients
of the Athena Scholarship Fund

San Diego, CA - April 19, 2016 – Executives, representing a variety of scientific and technology industries throughout Southern California, will gather at Athena San Diego’s 18th Annual Pinnacle Awards gala to celebrate the leaders in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) who are at the forefront of discovery, innovation and scientific advancement. The event will be held at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in Downtown San Diego at 5:00 p.m. on April 28, 2016. To register, visit

Athena Pinnacle is a catalyst event - it’s the one day where more than 600 leaders in STEM gather to make connections, be inspired by and celebrate the profound accomplishments of their peers,” said Cheryl K. Goodman, Executive Director of Athena San Diego, a professional development association serving women executives and rising managers in science and technology. “Pinnacle attendees leave the event with a renewed sense of their own capabilities, which are in alignment with Athena’s mission to enable, empower and equip rising female managers in STEM industries,” says Goodman.

A special Chairman’s Award will be also be revealed. The Chairman’s Award, presented by Karen Fisher, Chairman of Athena San Diego, recognizes one top leader who has made a significant impact in the business landscape over their lifetime, while creating pathways for women in STEM leadership.

Rory Devine, NBC 7/39 Education Reporter will emcee the Pinnacle Awards. “I’ve emceed Pinnacle for 6 years and it’s the one event where all girls and women are reminded that their success is only limited by their imagination,” states Devine.

Pinnacle Scholarships

Athena Foundation each year awards five (5) deserving high school senior women within San Diego County who demonstrate exemplary skills in science and technology. Chosen from over 140 applications, these outstanding young women have impressive accomplishments already and are the people to watch as our STEM leaders of tomorrow.

Founding Members:

Athena will also highlight the core group of women who founded Athena San Diego nearly two decades ago, which includes: Barbara Bry, Susan Mallory, Lynne Friedmann, Anne O'Donnell, Sigrid Pate, Tamar Elkeles, Martha Dennis, Karen Klause, Donna Caley Leach and Linda LeBeau

Schedule of Events:

5:00 pm – 7:00 pm: Champagne Reception, Networking and Silent Auction - Proceeds to benefit the Pinnacle Scholarship Fund

7:00 pm – 9:00pm:  Dinner, Awards and Scholarship Program


Athena San Diego’s 2016 Pinnacle Awards is made possible with the support of Title Sponsor, Sony, Presenting Sponsors; Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Barney and Barney, Morrison & Foerster, Qualcomm, and Sheppard Mullin, Silver Sponsors; Beckton Dickinson, CBIZ Mayer Hoffman McCann, and Mintz Levin. Flowers are sponsored by RGP, wine is sponsored by Ernst & Young, and dessert is sponsored by DLA Piper.  The San Diego Business Journal acts as the media sponsor for the Pinnacle Awards event.


Individual tickets can be purchased for $200 each or a table of 10 can be reserved for $2000 – though tables are selling out quickly.

Make reservations for Athena San Diego’s Pinnacle Awards at or by emailing [email protected].

For more information about the Pinnacle Awards, please visit

About Athena San Diego

Athena San Diego is a 501(c)6 professional development association serving women executives and rising managers in science and technology. Athena is a community of dynamic women that provides inspiration, education, networking and leadership programs that empower women to realize their true potential. For more information about membership and to learn more, visit

About Athena San Diego Foundation

Athena San Diego Foundation is a 501(c)3 was established to support and oversee the Pinnacle Scholarship Fund. It is represented by an active Board of Directors committed to nurturing and supporting the next generation of women leaders in science, math and technology.

Share this post: