Pinnacle 2017 Nominees 

Athena highlights the brightest and best in STEM. Congratulations to the 2017 Pinnacle nominees.


Individuals in Life Science

Denise Bevers
Co-Founder & Chief Operating Officer, Kindred Biosciences, Inc.
Nicole Boramanand
CEO / Founder, Translation Health Consulting
Natasha Bowman
Vice President, Human Resources, Synthetic Genomics
Brooke Emerling, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Cancer Metabolism and Signaling Networks Program, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute

Diane Goostree
President & CEOALASTIN Skincare, Inc.

Troy Hopps
Global Business Leader, Becton Dickinson (BD)
Dr. Shashita Inamdar
Principal, Achieve Medical / Achieve TMS
Sabrina Johnson
CEO & CFO, Daré Bioscience / California Institute for Biomedical Research
Ida Khodami
Senior Manager Bioinformatics Engineering, Illumina, Inc.
Pantea Khodami
Manager, Market Development, Illumina, Inc.
Laing Rikkers
Managing Director and Co-Owner, HealthpointCapital
Lucy Su
WW VP of Global Customer Services, Becton Dickinson (BD)
Dina Uzri, Ph.D.
COO, Abreos Biosciences
Ashley Van Zeeland, Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer, Human Longevity, Inc.
Stephanie Venn-Watson
CEO, Epitracker, Inc.
Kim Walpole
Co-Founder / CEO,
Christina Waters, Ph.D.
Founder, President and CEO, RARE Science, Inc.
Eveie Wilpon Schwartz
Co-Founder and President / COO, ProdermIQ, Inc.


Individuals in Education

Nicole Assisi, Ph.D.
CEO, Thrive Public School
Susan Baxter, Ph.D.
Executive Director, California State University Program for Education & Research in Biotechnology (CSUPERB)
Regina Bernal
Entrepreneurship Manager, University of San Diego
Cora Carmody
Founder and Head Goddess, Technology Goddesses (TM)
Pamela Cosman, Ph.D.
Professor, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering, UC San Diego
Kimberly King
Co-Director, mystartupxx and StartR
Linda Travis Macomber
Academic Program Director, MS Health Informatics, National University
Alexei Prohoroff
Physics Instructor, San Diego Jewish Academy
Nancy Swanberg
Science Specialist, Del Mar Union School District / Del Mar Hills Academy
Janette Williams
Strategic Business Partner, Center for Creative Leadership
Jeff Winkler
Founder & CEOOrigin Code Academy


Individuals in Technology

Michiko Araki
VP of Marketing, Sony Electronics
Susie Armstrong
SVP of Engineering, Qualcomm
Sheri Bonner
Sr Manager, Support Engineering, Qualcomm
Erica Burles
President, Equation Technologies
Jaye Connolly-LaBelle
President / CEO, RippleNami, Inc.
Kelly Crothers
Director, Marketing – Virtual Sales & Global Customer Success, Cisco Systems, Inc.
Joy Curth
Senior Offering Program Manager, Intuit
Melissa DeVita
VP, Division Counsel, Qualcomm
Kristin Elliott
President & CEO, Precision Measurement Engineering and Aquasend
Candace Gallihugh
Principal Planning Manager for Surface Ships, Navy SPAWAR Systems Center Pacific
Mary Gendron
SVP and CIO, Qualcomm
Vanitha Kumar
VP, Engineering, Qualcomm
Maggie Lowe
Staff IT Manager, Qualcomm
Jan Marshall
Chief Information Officer, Cubic Corporation

Iris Miao
Engineer, Senior Staff, Qualcomm

Susan Miller
Global Product Security Director, Oracle

Alicia Monroe
Senior Director, IT, Qualcomm
Ali Najeed
Programmer Analyst, Sr Staff, Qualcomm
Sue Prelozni
CEO, Founder, Sustainable Surplus Exchange Inc.
Leslie Presutti
Sr Director, Product Management, Qualcomm
Nithya Ramanathan, Ph.D.
President & Co-Founder, Nexleaf Analytics
Kristin Slink
Co-founder & Chief Product Officer, LoanHero
Nina Smith
Executive Vice President and General Manager, Casualty Solutions, Mitchell International


Individuals in Service

Beth Branning
Chief Strategy Officer, San Diego Zoo Global
Michele Comtois
Principal, Barney & Barney
Lynn Fulks
Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer, Upstart Group 
Nancy Hong, Ph.D.
Managing Director, RiverVest Venture Partners
Vivian Lin
CEO, Omni Creative Labs
Alison Long Pettine
Founding Partner, SEED San Diego
Kelli McCauley
President, McCauley & Company
Kimberly J. Miller, Ph.D., J.D.
Partner, Knobbe Martens LLP

Marcy Morrison
CEO / Founder, Careers with Wings

Heather Mueller, J.D.
Principal & Founder, The Mueller Law Office, P.C.
Maggie Osburn
Executive Vice President, General Manager, HUB International
Denise Pirrotti Hummel, J.D.
Chief Innovative Officer, Lead Inclusively, Inc.
Teodora Purcell, J.D.
Senior Attorney, Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP
Amanda Scott
President, Solution Harbor, Inc.
Stephanie Seidman, Ph.D, J.D.
Partner, Dentons US
Jodi Smith
Partner, EY
Colleen Smith
Partner, Latham & Watkins
Diane West
President and Owner, 2Connect
Monique Williamson
Executive Director, Deskhub, Inc.



BioLabs San Diego

Canale Communications
DLA Piper LLP (US)


Everyone Counts

Illumina, Inc.


Mira Costa College
Mitchell International

RARE Science, Inc.


Life Science Start-Up

ALASTIN Skincare, Inc.


Daré Bioscience



Tech Start-Up


Coin Up


GeiaFit Inc.

LoanHero, Inc.

Precision Measurement Engineering and Aquasend

Urban Translations